les annees 2000

Home/les annees 2000
les annees 2000 2017-05-16T16:38:04+00:00

Avignon

My first studio in Avignon was located above industrial premises. Their buckets contained a large number of materials which, although in perfect condition, were destined for destruction. Here large formats – 2mx1,50m – rodoid sheets – transparent or opalescent polymer material –
In agreement with my neighbor the industrialist who supported my work, I recovered these sheets. They were the support of my creation for several years.
This is an important point of the process, recovering them, recycling them into works of art. It is about giving another life to this industry waste that we use every day and that overwhelms our environment at all.

On this subject, an event had struck and prompted me in my approach : during a walk on a beach, I had fallen in admiration at what seemed to me to be a wonderfully beautiful sea anemone that had proved to be a good banal base of plastic bags.
Great had been my disappointment, see my sadness, but I had also thought: “beauty is everywhere”

We see that everything can be sublimated. By using and recycling this material from industry, I change its destiny of polluting waste into a support of creation, a state where one’s  will not want any more at all to be imperishable!

 

These Rodoid formats, I have explored, exploited the many and sometimes contradictory characteristics. Because they are fine, shiny, robust, tear-proof, almost imperishable, but also fragile and sensitive to scratches.

I handled, painted, cut, glued, superimposed, exposed to the sun, on the ground, rinsed them with water jet, repainted … A series presented between two plates of plexis were scarified by bolts that maintained the structure. But also, and above all, I played with them, admired their transparency, their relationship with the elements.

These leaves are beautiful materials, marvels of technology and chemistry, but in many aspects I refuse to bow to the dictatorship which their impeccable surfaces attempt to impose upon us. During all these manipulations, voluntary marks, or not, have begun to surface.

I claim these marks, scratches or other traces in gesture of resistance to this perfection, those smooth and shiny surfaces for which the real immediately becomes an intrusion.
I claim its hazards and imperfections.


Series from the Sources workshop :

« Splash »  « Tran’S »  « Barcelona POP»  «Installation»

Les années 2000

Home/Les années 2000
Les années 2000 2017-05-16T16:38:04+00:00

Avignon

Mon premier atelier avignonnais se situait au dessus de locaux industriels. Leurs bennes recélaient un grands nombre de matériaux qui, bien qu’en parfait état, étaient destinés à la destruction. Ici de grands formats – 2mx1,50m – de feuilles rodoïde  – matière polymère transparente ou opalescente –

En accord avec mon voisin l’industriel qui soutenait mon travail, j’ai récupéré ces feuilles. Elles ont été le support de ma création pendant plusieurs années.
C’est un point important de la démarche, le fait de les récupérer, les recycler en œuvres d’art. Il s’agit donner une autre vie à ces déchets de l’industrie que nous utilisons chaque jour et qui submerge notre environnement à tous.

À ce sujet, un événement m’avait frappée et incitée dans ma démarche : sur une plage, j’étais tombée en admiration devant ce qu’il me semblait être une anémone de mer, merveilleusement belle, qui s’était avérée être une bien banale base de sacs plastique.
Grande avait été ma déception, voir ma tristesse,  mais j’avais pensé aussi  : “la beauté est partout”

On voit que tout peut être sublimé. En utilisant et recyclant cette matière issue de l’industrie, je change son destin de déchet polluant en support de création, état où on ne lui en voudra plus du tout d’être impérissable !

Ces formats de Rodoïde, j’en ai exploré, exploité les caractéristiques nombreuses et parfois contradictoires. Car elles sont fines, brillantes, robustes, indéchirables, quasi impérissables, mais aussi fragiles et sensibles aux rayures.

Je les ai manipulées, les ai peintes, découpées, collées, superposées, exposées au soleil, sur le sol, les ai rincées au jet d’eau, repeintes…Une série présentée entre deux plaques de plexis étaient scarifiée par des boulons qui maintenaient la structure.

Mais aussi, et surtout, j’ai joué avec elles, admirées leur transparence, leurs relation avec les éléments.

Ces feuilles sont de beaux matériaux, merveilles de technologie et de chimie, mais, à bien des égards, je refuse de me plier à la dictature que leurs impeccables surfaces tentent de nous imposer. Au cours de toutes ces manipulation, des marques volontaires, ou non, ont entamé leur surface.

Je revendique ces marques, griffures ou autres traces, en geste de résistance à la perfection de ces surfaces lisses et brillantes, pour lesquelles le réel devient tout de suite une intrusion. J’en revendique les hasards et les imperfections.

Séries issues de l’atelier de Sources

« Splash »  « Tran’S »  « Barcelona POP»  «Installation»